IVF and the Newlywed: Vaginasaurus


I’ve gotten about 50 hits on the blog this month by people searching the keyword “pterodactyl”. (See the posting: Fill Your Cup). Innocently, I recommended that anyone going through the baby-making process develop an “alter ego” to give voice to the new hyper-you that seems to come out during the meds and the stressful trials of trying to conceive. I refer to MY alter ego as Tarra, she’s a graceful pterodactyl. I could not go through this without Tarra. I can attribute (or blame her) for any mood swings or questionable tears that surface during the process. She’s also a great source of humor for both me and my husband, as we can just say “Tarra did it!” when anything particularly nasty comes out of my mouth.

Tarra sits on my right shoulder. She’s strong and powerful, but angers easily. Like me, she knows that even when it’s bad, it’s worth it. She’s not sure if this journey will bring us a baby through IVF, egg donation or adoption, but she assures me that there’s more than one way to make a family.

Tarra loves all women going on this journey, because no matter how beautiful, how successful, or how self-actualized we are, we are still humbled by the process. Her little reptile heart beats for each of us.

I bring this up for two reasons:

1. I think everyone should have an alter ego.

2. There are a handful of schoolchildren out there, looking for information on Dinosaurs, and finding a Vaginasaurus instead….

…..oops.

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. So nice to stumble upon your blog. I feel like I must have ‘borrowed’ Tarra from you today as I am an emotional nightmare! Wow, my poor husband has just been on the recieving end of it and now that i’m reflecting things that seemed so big earlier on today, have really just been blown out of proportion due to the ‘Tarra’ inside me. You are right, it’s nice to have someone to blame for all the yucky bits!
    🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 5, 2009 at 11:40 am

      I agree! Let him know how you are feeling, and that the meds and stress are driving this…My husband thought it was a hoot to create his own alter ego, to combat mine! Best of luck to you! M

      Reply

  2. OMG, hilarious! I need an alter ego. How about a super hero? Aqua girl, ’cause I”m always crying with all these hormones raging through me!!!

    Reply

  3. […] ALTER EGO is probably pregnant too, which is why you are both […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

