Join RubyFeather


 

We’ve just created  a social club for baby-makin’ ladies who would like to meet in a positive setting and share stories, encouragement and adventures. We will host monthly socials and  outings in the Boston metro area. We have members from NH, Maine and Mass. All are welcome.

For more information, feel free to email me at shellysugarpie@yahoo.com and be sure to check out the link below for event details:

http://www.meetup.com/RubyFeather-Boston/

New to Boston! RubyFeather hopes to engage and empower women who are experiencing the ups and downs of  adding on to their families. We believe that we are stronger together, than individually. We are here to offer you some good energy, and some girl power. We meet up for coffee-talk, mocktails, mixers and outings. Whether you are single, married, gay, or straight, you are welcome. Whether your journey is through IVF, IUI, adoption, or the traditional method we encourage you to join us. We are not a “group therapy session” but a group of strong ladies who believe laughter and encouragement is the best medicine 

21 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, I hope you have gotten lots of interest for this group! I am very excited to meet some people in the area going through the same stuff. I haven’t told very many people in my “real” life about the whole infertility thing (hence creating the blog to get my thoughts out and find community). It will be so nice to have some friends to lean on and to support.

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

      I couldn’t agree more Kate! I think it will be fun and I look forward to meeting you in person! Let your blogging community know about it too…
      Best!
      Shell

      Reply

      • Posted by romancingthestone on October 14, 2009 at 11:21 am

        You should post a recipe on my cooking blog (Veggie Vixen). Think about it… we are enjoying the bounty of the same farm : )

      • I just posted about RubyFeather on my blog. Excited to meet everyone when the day comes!

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 23, 2009 at 4:37 pm

      Looking forward to meeting…M

      Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on October 16, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I would love to join the group, but would not be able to make it on a regular basis- I love in Portland, Maine and go to treatments at BIVF. I have not found any groups like this in my area.

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 16, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      Please consider joining RubyFeather, and just come when you can. We opened the circle to all of New England so ladies can take advantage of the networking experience. The nice thing about the group is that we have a message board for comments and feedback and we will schedule events at least 3 weeks or more in advance so people can plan ahead. I hope there will be a lot of laughter and “sisterhood” in the group. Best! Michele

      Reply

  3. Posted by MamaUno on October 16, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    OMG. I would *so* love to join this group, but I live in Houston! (After yes SEVEN years in the Boston area, mostly Somerville.)
    Have lots of fun for us ladies a few thousand miles away… and best of luck with all things TTC!
    -M

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 16, 2009 at 8:17 pm

      Best of luck MamaUno, and if you want to join and be our “special guest star” we have a memo board on meetup that we use to keep in touch with one another….Thanks for your note! Michele

      Reply

  4. What a great idea and good for you for doing it! I wish I lived in Boston. 🙂

    ICLW

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on October 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm

      Hey Ashley! Well you are always welcome in the future. Feel free to start a group up of your own in your home town….Best, Shell

      Reply

  5. I am really impressed. You are a talented writer and seem to have the ideas and energy of many women, not just one. I laughed at the description of your parents and husband. I have been living in the UK for 14 years. When my parents visit, they stay at a hotel down the road, rather than having to wake up to the morning grunts of my grumpy husband or the mess in my kitchen.

    I applaud your RubyFeathers group, getting together for all the right reasons. By being proactive in finding your own support network, you are helping yourself and other women. Good luck.

    I will definitely be visiting your blog again.

    Lisa (ICLW #100)

    Reply

  6. Posted by romancingthestone on October 23, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Hi Lisa, Thanks so much for your kind words (and your family story…). Lucky #100. I wish you the best of luck on your journey and will check out your blog right NOW! Shell

    Reply

  7. I have been considering starting a group like this in my community. I hope you get a great turnout! I will be lurking to see how it goes (and maybe steal some ideas!).

    ICLW

    Reply

  8. Wow, that is such a great idea. I have often wished that there was a group like that in the Philly area. That is so awesome that you’re starting one — best of luck!!

    ICLW

    Reply

  9. What a wonderful idea! I wish I lived closer just so that I could join you wonderful ladies. 🙂 All the best to you!!

    *Happy ICLW!*

    Reply

  10. Sound like a great idea too bad I am not in boston!!

    Reply

  11. Hi Shell,
    thanks for coming by my blog and offering suck kind words of support. I appreciate it so much.
    I’m in NH so I may try to come to the boston group sometime – I noticed through the link that I need to become a member, can you shoot me an email and tell me how?
    i
    cant
    whistle
    at
    yahoo
    dot
    com

    Thank you so much and good luck with your cycle!
    warmly,
    Kate

    Reply

  12. Love it. We TTC thru surrogacy and man, did the waiting room seem like a freaking funeral home.

    I pray that you will acheive conception this year but that your infectious smile brings joy to an otherwise difficult place to be.

    ICLW

    Reply

  13. Sounds like a wonderful idea. I’m nowhere near Boston. But I think it’s wonderful.

    ICLW

    Reply

Leave a Reply

