Sunny Side Up


Isn’t it always this way?

SUNNY SIDE UP

Good news: We officially have a DOZEN EGGS.

12 lil egglets growing and waiting… Making them has not been the big issue in the past. It’s been the egg quality due to my ripe robust age. But let’s not think of past setbacks or current limitations. There is nothing I can do about my age. It’s a beautiful age. Wise and sensual. The experiences in my life have made me the person that I am today. I could not erase one precious year from life’s resume (okay, maybe 1996 but I am not going there!). This is who I am- and it’s so much MORE than a number on a medical chart!

The Doc wants me to go one more day before the trigger shot. That’s good news. I can celebrate thanksgiving with my new Italian family and then concentrate on baby-making right after.

******************************

SCRAMBLED

Bad News: THE CALL…

I was getting ready to leave work and have dinner with a girlfriend when I got the call. It was the DAY CARE center at my company. I’ve been on the “waiting list” for about 10 months and they were trying to reach me through the wrong email. Seems my number came up. Feigning gratitude, I thank her for her call and tell her that we are still trying, and we hope to have a “new member” for them in 9 months to a year. She replies that it’s their manager’s policy to only have PREGNANT WOMEN on the waiting list. ( In other words, women who are REALLY having babies!) I swallowed hard. The room got bigger and I felt about 2 feet tall.

“You have to be pregnant to sign up for day care.” She says. As if I didn’t understand her the first time! As if one plus one always equals two.

Big gulp of air. “Well, I WAS pregnant then…… Unfortunately I am not anymore.”

Silence.

“Oh. I’m sorry.” More silence……then chirpy like a caged bird she says “Well, we are happy to keep your deposit check so you can use it at a later date. Just call us back when you are ready to have a baby. Good luck!”

I am ready to have a baby! It’s just my body and my eggs who were not!

Why today???? Why when I am so close to IVF #3? So amped up on hormones. It makes me think of how hopeful I was when I signed up at the day care. The little children playing outside. It was spring then. “That’s the nursery” I remember her saying, and pointing to a doorway I was not ready to pass through.

It’s a lie that they don’t take names of future-mothers. The wait is over a year long, so people sign up once they begin trying. In fact, someone who worked there encouraged me to sign up when I did. Have I now missed my chance and my name has gone to the bottom of the list?

I wrote her back and said that I was uncomfortable with the situation, and to give us 2 weeks to get back to her if we were preggers or not. If she denies this I will go to the manager and speak with him. I’m a great negotiator with big contracts and accounts, but this conversation brought me to tears.

I’ve never felt so barren in my life.

***************************

OVER EASY!

aka THE STUPID THINGS THAT KILL YOU.

Last month a friend(???) and colleague of mine proclaimed that she had “the OPPOSITE PROBLEM as me, because her husband would just have to look at her and she’d get pregnant.” Giggle giggle, “And look,” she cooed “my whole team is pregnant, first X, then Y. It must be the water around here!”

I wish I had a sticker book and every butthead-commenter would get one right between the eyes. That way, every unsuspecting person who crossed their path would know when to WATCH OUT!

What a day!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by steph on November 24, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Don’t know if this is helpful or not but I have mentioned to friends who are pregnant that they have a get out jail free card for situations like over easy above. And that card is the HUGE amount of hormones coursing through you right now. Just let the stupid people have it, don’t hold back. Later on you can always call them back and apologize if you need to and just blame the hormones. Use it and stay sane. Stupid people may not mean to be hurtful but that is no reason to not call them on it.

    Anyway I am thrilled at your dozen egglets and think that you guys are amazing as you go through this.

    Love ya and see you on Thursday!!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by romancingthestone on November 25, 2009 at 10:15 am

      Thank you for giving me something to laugh about today!!!! I can’t wait to see you at thanksgiving. You have been such a wonderful support and friend to us. (((hugs))) Shell+The Bear

      Reply

  2. A dozen eggs is fabulous! I hope those all develop into beautiful wonderful embryos.

    What a pain about the whole daycare thing. I am so sorry. {{{Hugs}}}

    Reply

  3. Huzzah for 12 eggs!! 😀

    But 😡 for the insensitive daycare tele-chick.

    Happy ICLW!

    Reply

  4. Yippee for a dozen eggs! I’m sorry for insensitive schmucks! I had a similar phone conversation early last spring with the director of the local health unit. Apparently my doc had passed my name along for prenatal classes, and the chick who called was just completely inappropriate when I told her that I wouldn’t be needing their services. She went on and on about how beneficial the classes were and how I should be doing everything in my power to prepare myself mentally and physically for the birth. When I could finally get a word in edgewise, I told her that I had miscarried, she actually got rather pissy with me… why hadn’t I called and taken my name off the list? Well, I hadn’t put my name on her list in the first place, so… She deserves a great big stupid-schmuck sticker.

    ICLW

    Reply

  5. Happy eggs! and fuck the daycare lady, how incredibly insensitive and ohhhh grrrrr I hate that for you. I love the sticker Idea, I want some too. So so sorry about that part.
    And the friendish colleague may bite me. maybe I’l catch whatever she has that makes this work.

    hang in there! and good luck with your wonderful egg count!

    warmly,
    Kate

    Reply

  6. Ick. Hate it when people are so insensitive.

    Reply

  7. Hi Shell! Hahaha, what an awesome post. GOOD LUCK with your transfer! Benjamin and I are rooting for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

