Beautiful worm!


I have not slept all week! Today was our week 7.5 ultrasound , the one where they look for a heartbeat. Everyone I spoke with made THIS appointment seem somewhat apocalyptic. I figured either the angels would come down and blow trumpets in my face, or the earth would crack open and swallow me while spread eagle in the stirrups.

I feared the latter. Too many baby books siting statistics on losses at this point.

Well I am happy to say that neither took place. No angles, just a beaming Bear of a Husband and a little nubbin on an ultrasound screen that looked like a mushy blob. I could also say it looked somewhat like a worm or a maggot (but in the sweetest way). I guess I thought it might have a big monster face and cute little arm buds now. I cried and nearly wet my pants. My nubbin was 1 cm big and had a powerful heartbeat of 153! That’s more than I usually have on the stair master!

I’m exhausted, but elated. I celebrated with a double serving of lowfat chocolate milk. We have a due date at the end of summer, right before our anniversary. Finger still crossed, still a long way to climb!

We have officially graduated from the Center For Infertility and Reproductive Medicine at Harvard. I have been with them for so many years, through countless experiences. Feels like the safety net is being taken away and we are back on solid ground. Still trying to safely cross the street.

I am wishing you all the happiness in the world.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Steph on January 8, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    AWESOME!!!

    So are you sure it is just one? 😉 (no you can not kill the aunt of your child)

    -steph

    Reply

  2. So exciting! Must have been magical to see them there on the screen. Dreams do come true….xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

