Creme de la Creme


If you have a moment- or thirty- please check out The Stirrup Queens List of “The Best of the Best” blog posts for 2009. The ALI community was encouraged to submit their favorite blog postings from their own websites. There is a wealth of beautiful writing, and stories of strength, hope and faith.  CREME DE LA CREME . My submission is #77.

I spent the day on the couch and floor nursing a bad back. I think I slipped a disk from some over ambitious house cleaning. I tried to take some “quiet time” and read some books on nutrition. There’s “What to Expect When You are Expecting,” by Arlene Eisenburg, which now seems dated and somewhat punitive. It’s a helpful book, but the author reminds me of a scolding schoolteacher whose methods seems to insight fear and intrepidation, rather than lightness, knowledge and joy, Then there’s “The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy,” by Vicki Iovine, which I find hysterical, relevant and informative. It reminds me of an honest chat with your BFF about the stuff you wouldn’t DARE speak about to anyone else. What an enjoyable read.

There’s also a good recipe and nutrition guide called “The Healthy Pregnancy Cookbook,” by Jane Middleton. I love the explanations of what the proper foods and vitamins can do for a woman who is pregnant or trying to become pregnant. It really makes you feel empowered in your choices.

I’m feeling a bit out of sorts today. But hey, “Dr. Pepper’s Lonely Heart’s Club Band” is on the tube, and if you ever need a pick me up. This is it!

Best of luck to everyone. Sending LOT’s of LOVE!!

One response to this post.

  1. Hi Shell, haven’t checked the Creme de la Creme but will do soon – there just never seems to be enough hours in the day! Put your feet up and rest your poor back, don’t want it to start playing up in these early days. As a pre- and post-natal massage therapist I see a lot of bad backs… Stretch it out with yoga and strengthen your core with pilates and get lots of lovely rest…
    I have literally hundreds of pregnancy and birth books as I write about preg and birth – check out my birth feature in this issue of The Green Parent mag (www.thegreenparent.co.uk) – and I’m always lending them to clients. Like you, I prefer the ones that are empowering and inspiring. I love most of Sheila Kitzinger’s books and Ina May Gaskin is amazing, such a wonderful woman.
    Sorry to hear you’re feeling out of sorts, hope you’ve picked up now. Love Lucy xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

