Blessed


The Bear is out picking us up some BBQ pork. Can I just tell you how HAPPY that makes me? It’s obscene how titilated I feel at this moment, like I have been sitting on top of the washer during the spin cycle. I have been in a nausea induced pregnancy cloud for three days and the thought of a greasy pork sandwich has my mouth watering.

I should stop now and explain that I have been eating so utterly healthy (except for a cannoli or two) and I even keep a ridiculous food journal to be sure my lightning-bug is getting all the nutrition it needs to get bigger and take over my body. But right now, RIGHT NOW,I WANT A GREASY PORK SANDWICH!!!!!!!!!

I picked up the free magazine at my new OB’s office.It’s called PREGNANCY. The cover features a very lovely woman in a flesh colored dress, surrounded by flowers while clutching her baby bump. The headline reads as follows

“LOVE YOUR LABOR!! WHAT TO WEAR in the hospital,STAY SERENE during delivery, RECOVER like a champ!”

Can I tell you what a crock of baby poo this is! Is this the cosmo of birthing? In the mag they show the new trend in  $150 labor jonnies and diaper bags. It’s like the etsy of babyland.

Now. I’m not one to push aside a good bargain, and I do love researching trends, but “bring your own jonnie” to the labor room???? How bout a simple spray tan and a bikini wax (oh wait- they do that for you when you get there, right?).

Why can’t people be honest about this miracle? It can be messy, it can be hard, and no floral delivery gown is going to make it easier. It is real, viscral, messy, primal and BEAUTIFUL!~ I am in awe of this blessing (hope hope hope) and feel blessed to be on this journey- even without the cute diaper bag!

Love to you. Pork’s here. Gotta run!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Steph on January 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Yes you definitely want to buy a $150 jonnie so that you can get blood and worse all over it in the delivery room rather than just get the hospital one all gross. 😉 Get yourself a pretty sleep shirt for after to wear in the hospital room so that you look all pretty when people come to visit. 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amber on January 21, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Yeah I never understood the point of people brining their own jammies (especially something as expensive as that). You look like crap after giving birth – period. Both times I was so swollen and my hair looked like a rat’s nest (not to mention all the blood that was everywhere). I didn’t take a shower or get out of bed for 3 days with my first. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

