Child’s pose


Exhale…..aaaah.

I made a new friend through the MeetUp group I started and we met for the first time at our local yoga studio in Mass. It was my first time at pre-natal yoga. I have to admit this was a big leap for me. To sit in a room with such bourgeoning, gorgeous bellies and feel like I truly BELONGED THERE. There were moments that I was overcome with emotion. How many years have I waited to be pregnant. And in this class, I was just like the other ladies – although perhaps less limber- no big tatoo of “IF” where my heart center should be. Just a girl doing her best downward dog, and trying to savor the moment.

There were women of all shapes and sizes, all ages. All glowing.

I feel like I made it though another “doorway” in my experience and even though I am still in disbelief  that this IS happening, I am opening up to it, and trying to be there for our Firefly.

We had a great double date with two cherished friends last night. It has been ages since I have put on a pretty dress and lipstick. It was exactly what the Bear and I needed. In addition, I’ve been spending a lot of time with a wonderful girlfriend – lots of tea and girl-talk, and I feel like a flower in the sun. Very nourished.

And speaking of being nourished- I just made something called “comfort chicken” tonight, which should be done in about 5 minutes. It’s a stew of  fresh veggies and sauteed chicken in vegetable stock, with a crusty potato topping.I have no idea how it will taste, but I love cooking and it’s great to use up all the vegetables we get from our weekly farm share.I can totally use a little “comfort” tonight!

Tomorrow the Bear and I meet our new OB for the first time. I always get a little nervous before Dr. appt’s . Particularly ones where we do ultrasounds or hear the Firefly’s heartbeat. All we can do is stay positive and know that being a little nervous is totally normal. 

Exhale……namaste!

5 responses to this post.

  1. namaste!
    Yoga is the best! and I can only imagine that pre natal yoga is the icing on the cake!

    Good luck for your OB appt tomorrow… look forward to hearing all about it. You are right, being nervous is normal, nerves are the body’s way of showing you how important this firefly is to you.

    x hugs

    Reply

  2. Lovely girly! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Your comfort chcken sounds delicious – I just made beef stew! I’m glad you enjoyed your yoga!

    ICLW

    Reply

  4. Congratulations on your pregnancy! You sound like a wonderful, supportive person. So happy you have conceived!
    I love yoga and dream of doing pre natal when I find become pregnant!
    Good luck on your journey. Glad you liked your doc.
    I live in northern new england and there are no fertility groups around, maybe I can join you from afar!

    Reply

  5. Posted by FenixRizing on January 26, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I’m feeling mighty nourished myself. You have no idea how much our girl-time together has helped me realize that my life is different now than it was a few years ago. I’m not alone. I have support and people who love me.

    I’m “going for it” and one of the reasons why is because you’ve let me know I’m not alone. =)

    luv,
    m.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

