The Great Garbage Patch


Someone once told me that when you embark on the journey toward motherhood, you become more sensitive to the world than ever before. I do not know this to be true, because I have always been a very empathetic and sensitive person. But something DOES stir within you- the desire to right wrongs, the hope to protect- not just your child but those to be born after. We are all connected by a long red thread. It goes back to the first word, the first touch. We are all here for a reason, and the things we leave behind may live on even longer than our children.

I woke last night from a dream about the Great Garbage Patch. This seems like urban legend, this huge island of floating garbage (mostly plastic) that is larger than Texas. How could this have grown to such astronomical scale that “someone” hasn’t  spoken out about it , DONE SOMETHING ABOUT IT. So of course, this morning, I started to research it a little more. What IS the great garbage patch? How did it come to be and what can we do about it?

I am no scientist, but being a smart, educated person who can decide where my money and time should go, I can explore my options, and make more strategic choices.

Maybe in our own small way, we can make personal choices to help move things forward. For one, I hope to use less plastic. Especially plastic that does not say BPA free. I am reading case studies that many plastics leaches bisphenol A, which can mimic the female hormone, estrogen and cause birth and gender defects in animals. This one study tested plastic baby bottles. Can I tell you how my heart skipped a beat!

I think we are ALL mothers and fathers of the world. I believe it is the small things we do that can make a difference. The things we advocate for, and model in our own lives.

For more information, please check out the following links:

National Geographic BPA- Bisphenol A good video on the problem and it’s possible effects, including a study on BPA plastic baby bottles.

USA Today: Great Tips for Moms Regarding BPA

Oprah: The Great Garbage Patch Note: Some very disturbing images.

The Great Garbage Patch very good resource for environmental information.

Select clips on You Tube



Leave a Reply

