Dream House: The Courtship of We


I meet with our realtor today to sign the purchase and sale agreement for our new house! This is the last big step before the closing. The Bear and I have to run to the bank and withdraw our down payment.  I have to say that it is somewhat overwhelming (but terribly exciting).

Last week I decided to meld our bank accounts together, rather than keeping my own private accounts. This might seem like a “given” for someone who has been married two years with a baby on the way, but it was my last vestige of independence. My financial competence. I needed to do merge our finances as a personal acknowledgement that I am part of a WE now.  Sure, there will be time for a “mad money account” later, but now, I need to know we both have access to this in case of an emergency.

I can’t lie here. This was really hard for me to do. When you have been single for so long you are used to being self-reliant. It is hard for me to be vulnerable. To know that family decisions will now override personal ones. But it’s time.

Here are some more pictures of the Dream House. I am still going bonkers with ideas for paint, nursery, and period details. It’s been a pleasant distraction. A real focus on  the future. 

The front of the 1850's colonial

 

The backyard at dusk

 

The Beech tree stands vigil.

 

The long driveway from the road.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christina on May 4, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Beautiful!!!

    Reply

  2. I’ve been married almost three years and I still have my own account ha ha, and I haven’t even changed my social security card! I like having my own account, though (that way he doesn’t know when I buy him something – or more specifically when I buy MYSELF something, he he)

    We remodeled our first home, took a year and it was HARD since we did it all on our own. Just remeber to stay happy!!! It’s all that matters!!!

    Reply

  3. Love love love your new house! What a great place. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

