Club Bedd- Week 4!


An update to friends and family, sent from my bed at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston (aka Club Bedd)

Greetings from Club Bedd, where the temperature is a steady 67 degrees and the food is white and pasty. 

It’s hard to believe that we are entering our 5th week here. I will take any little miracle we can get and feel blessed to have gotten to this point. Baby Jacob is doing wonderfully and seems as “happy as a clam” to quote one of the Docs. I am glad he has no idea that we are in here, or that my water broke and filled back up again. I bet he is happy that mama has had to set aside her workaholic tendencies for a wee bit!

Jacob is 32 weeks and 2 days today. He’s in a really good place as far as his development, and if he joined us today he would be well cared for by the team in the NICU. The Doctors are going to connect with the experts on the high risk OB team in a few weeks and run some tests on me to see if I should deliver at 34 or 36 weeks (the week of July 9 orJuly 23) which is unbelievable! He will soon be here !!!!

Papa Bear is doing well. He is working as head Contractor on our New Old House and packing, going to college and taking care of me and Jacob. He looks like HE could use some bed rest!

I’ve been trying to do something “meaningful” here (besides my new blessed full time job as incubator- which is pretty important). I’m reading some “deep” books, surfing the web on the best buys for king size sheets and outdoor furniture, and keeping up with the Kardashians. 

(Beware of  Jewish Princesses on bed rest with a laptop and a credit card!) 

The acupuncturist, and lady Rabbi, and social worker from the hospital pay me frequent visits, so I am now squared away with the Tao of Qi, G-d and my inner child. 

All I need is an aesthetician to rip off my very profound  mustache : ) and a constant supply of decaf iced lattes. Then, I will be balanced from the inside-out.

love,

me

8 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like things are going well! Congratulations on your pregnancy. This is my first time visiting your blog. I hope the rest of your bedrest goes well!

    Reply

  2. Hey, I just found your blog via LFCA. Club Bedd — love it. I was at the Brigham back in November @ 28 weeks for bleeding during my pregnancy, and spent the rest of it (I ended up going to 41 weeks, of course) on bed rest (the whole story is on goodegghunting.blogspot.com if you’re really bored and feel like checking it out). So I’ve been there (although spending the whole thing at the hospital supremely sucks) and I feel for you…but you’re almost there! And in amazing hands (as you know). Since I’m local, can I bring you anything? Celebrity gossip magazines? Chocolate? Colace? (I’m only half kidding on that last one, since I waited about 4 hours for them to bring me one while I was there due to some issue with their fancy electronic medication system). Seriously, let me know if there is anything I can do to help – goodegghunting@gmail.com. Hang in there — you have the most amazing ride ahead, just around the corner!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Betsy on June 28, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    So happy to read that things are going well. You deserve some retail therapy to help pass the time and get the new house ready. Are you slated to move in soon or are you getting it ready. Loved the pics that you postes awhile back.

    Fantastic news that you have been there 5 weeks (you know what I mean) so your little one could do more cooking inside.

    Terrific to read that you, DH and your little one are all doing well!

    Reply

  4. I love that you call it “Club Bed!” So cute. Wishing you and Jacob all the best. Congratulations (soon)!!

    Reply

  5. I just found you from LFCA, and I’m so glad I did! Do you get lonely during the day? I live in Boston and have experience with bed rest, long hospital stays and the NICU. I also happen to be Jewish. 😀 If you want a visitor, please let me know and I’ll pop in. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love the phrase club bed. Ahh…iced coffee and lattes. A woman after my own heart. When I was stuck in the hospital while pregnant it was the little things that made you smile, huh? You are doing great! I am so proud of your good attitude, it’s hard somedays to keep your head up when you are stuck away from home for weeks 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Melanie on July 1, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I delivered my twins at BWH at 34w 6d – They spent about a month in the NICU, and are now great, big, healthy 6 year olds! We learned so much from the NICU nurses, and felt like we were all really taken care of. You are doing an amazing job keeping your little one “cooking.” Stick to your guns if you have a gut feeling about something – it’s the mama bear in you coming out! Take care…

    Reply

  8. Posted by K on July 3, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Sounds like your patience will be his gain. Blessings!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

