Club Bedd- Home at Last!


Bed Rest, week 6

I cannot believe that I have been on bed rest since before Memorial Day. It’s somewhat unreal.

When I got to the hospital after we thought my water broke, Baby Jake was just 28 weeks and a little over 3 lbs. Today he is 34 1/2 weeks and 5 lbs 13 oz. I feel so blessed to have been able to give him this precious time of sleeping and growing inside of me.

On Friday, they released me from the hospital after confirming that my rupture had sealed. It was quite an ordeal, but what a joyful moment to be released after 6 long weeks. I was overcome with so many emotions, joy….fear…confusion.

It was hard to say goodbye to the nurses and the patients I have met on the high-risk floor at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Hard to leave people behind and not know where we will all be in a few months. I have learned so much on this journey. I hope that I can give something back.

We met our goal of getting him to 34 weeks. His lungs are not yet developed enough to breathe on his own, but he is so much stronger than he was when we were admitted to the hospital. Now, our new goal is to make it to 36 1/2 weeks without developing toxemia (preeclampsia) and deliver him by c-section. I am so glad that I did not know how critical the situation was when we first arrived. I am so happy we approached everything head-on with faith, love and as much good energy as we could muster.

It feels so good to wake up in my bed. To snuggle with my hubby. To have this precious time.

I would also like to say again that all of your comments and emails have really helped my family and me to feel so supported on this journey.

THANK YOU!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Character, morals, manners, and behavior are jewelry attached to the human self. for that keep writing and working friends … I hope you provide can be useful for many people.

    Reply

  2. Posted by emk808 on July 12, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Yippee!!! So glad you’re home and doing well. I have my fingers crossed for 36 weeks +!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Betsy on July 12, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    It must be great to be home and sleep in your own bed, Be around your own stuff. To 36 1/2 weeks.

    Sending all the best wishes to you. Take care.

    Reply

  4. Congrats on being home Shell. I’m sure those that you left behind in the hospital will miss your postive outlook and spirit. All the best xxx

    Reply

  5. Posted by Drew Wright on July 25, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    The antenatal unit sends good thoughts of you at home and can’t wait to hear when you return for baby Jake’s birth!! Hang in there Michelle; you’re almost there!
    Drew

    Reply

Leave a Reply

