Welcome Baby Jacob!


It was 1:30 in the morning of July 25 when something tugged at me  from the inside out. It was my second week of home bed rest (after being on hospital confinement for six weeks!). I wobbled over to the bathroom and nearly slipped on the turn. My water had broken all over the second floor of our new house. If you have ever seen that moment in “Ghostbusters” where the guy says “I’ve been slimed!” you can imagine the trail I left behind. Still, I was in complete denial, as this was the one thing we had not prepared for. So much had transpired in the eight weeks prior, that the last thing I expected was the “Honey, my water broke!” scenario.

Half packed bags, Half dressed. Fumbling in the dark. The Bear and I looked like nervous teenagers. He paced back and forth, urging me to get out of the bathroom. Finally I complied.

We had never made the “hospital run” from our new house. Everything on the highway looked foreign and celestial. I felt like the car was floating. I sat on four towels and tried to do some mean yoga breathing.

We were rushed into the operating room I will never forget my husband’s eyes peering out from over his hospital mask. So expectant. So full of love. I think I will remember that face until the day I die.

At 5:46am, our son was born. He was a gorgeous, agile baby with a thick mane of golden brown hair, and a shocking cry. After so many wins and losses, so many trials. He was here!

Welcome, Baby Jacob!  Wow!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Shell I am so happy for you!!! Have been wondering how you have been doing. Jacob is just define, he looks so adorable. Well done, you’ve done good!!! Enjoy it Mommy! xxx

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dream Seeker on August 27, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Shell, what wonderful news and what a beautiful boy! What a journey you have been on to get to this perfect moment, thank you for sharing it… Wishing you all the bliss and wonderment your little family deserves – enjoy! xxxx

    Reply

  3. Congratulations! Glad to see that everything turned out in the end–I am sure it was well worth the wait!

    Wishing you a speedy recovery!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Betsy on August 27, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    I’ve been checking your site and hoping things were good. What a wonderful update to read. Congratulations to you and your family.

    You can hardly see your DH’s face because of the mask — but his eyes say it all while holding his DS.

    All the best to you all! Congrats again. So very, very happy for you.

    Reply

  5. How did I miss this?!! Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

