One thousand aaah’s : #1- second chances


Forgive me.

It’s been ages since I have written.
So very much has happened.

Jacob is now every bit a toddler. He’s charming and mischievous and full of love. The Bear has gone back to school to pursue a career in nursing. Our “new” old house finally feels like a homestead. It’s rough around the edges, dusty and cluttered, but warm and welcoming. No pictures on the walls yet. Maybe next year….

I left my job in February to begin my own design strategy consultancy. It was a hard decision, but I remain steadfast and open to what the future holds. I want a fresh start, a new page turning.

I have read that good things sometimes rise from ashes. In the forest, dense new growth often appears after a great fire. Sometimes it is sudden, sometimes it takes years, but the seedlings that spring forth seem intent on taking hold.

I feel that way right now. When I look out, I see promise where there was once was dark, dense undergrowth. I see blank space. Green, wet soil fortified by ash. What is to grow in this new open space?

It’s important for me to sit in gratitude. When I feel my most frightened or alone, I need to sit in my power and remember what I DO have.

I have decided to use this blog to make note of things worth cherishing. Perhaps it will hold meaning for YOU TOO. If you have a comment or something to add, I welcome your thoughts.

I’d like to get to ONE THOUSAND AHA’S. It starts with one:

1. SECOND CHANCES: The promise of unlocking one’s potential and living with mindfulness, passion and intent.

No day like today.

20111101-095132.jpg

This one is for Betsy, who urged me to write again. Love you, sister.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by niobe on November 1, 2011 at 10:08 am

    So sweet. You both are totally gorgeous.

    Reply

  2. Posted by betsy on November 1, 2011 at 10:46 am

    and so I am Happy now.. for more reasons than one!!
    THANK YOU SHEL, for Sharing your gift!! always an inspiration..
    and to your beautiful Family that came when it was suppose to! BEAUTY!!
    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

